Part 11: Decisions of the Plenum


The conference adopts all decisions of the 6 committees which were formed in June 1949 at the preparatory meeting. The decision is made to make Beijing the capital of the People’s Republic of China (PRC). The designs of the national flag and national emblem and the text of the national hymn are approved. The introduction of the Gregorian calendar is sanctioned and the decision to establish the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) is made. The delegates chose 180 members for the National Committee of the CPPCC. See Table
Table 5 national committee CPPCC
and Chart
chart 1 government structure
The organic law of the CPPCC stipulates that once in the 6 months the National Committee has to convene. In reality the first National Committee has only met 4 times in 5 years’ time.
First meeting: 09-10-1949, Second meeting: 14-06-1950 – 23-06-1950, Third meeting: 23-10-1951 – 01-11-1951,Fourth meeting: 4-02-1953 – 07-02-1953
The Congress adopts two laws, the organic law of the CPPCC and the organic law of the central government. Article 4 of the organic law of the CPPCC tells that difference of opinion is allowed "…it must, in accordance with the democratic principle of the minority submitting to the majority, abide by the resolutions, and must not violate them. However, it may reserve its divergent opinions for discussion at the following session. If it fundamentally disagrees with important resolutions, it is free to withdraw from the Chinese People's PCC upon request."
Document: 27-09-1949 The organic law of the CPPCC

Central People’s Government Council (CGPC)....

The Congress also choses the members of the Central People’s Government Council (CGPC) See Table .
Table members of the CPGC
The head of the council is Mao Zedong, there are 6 vice chairmen; 3 CCP members namely Liu Shaoqi, Zhu De and Gao Gang. The others are Soong Ching Ling (non-party), Li Jishen member of the Rev. GMD and Zhang Lan CDL member. All four CCP adherents are Politburo members. 29 members and 2 alternative members of the Central Committee of the CCP are members of the CPGC.
Soviet ambassador Roshchin remarks in his diary how the real position of the non-CCP participants is. During the state banquet: : “Li Jishen, … Zhang Lan, and Cheng Qian. Because the presence of these last three, Com. Mao Zedong avoided conversations on serious political matters.”
Document:16-10-1949 Roshchin Memorandum of conversation with Mao Zedong
Already in January 1949 the CCP decides to restrict the access to certain documents and political decisions for the minzhu dangpai.
In December 1953 Gao Gang expressed "He was also uncomfortable with the continuing existence of the 'democratic parties' in China. While some individual members of these parties could be trusted, said Gao, others were completely unreliable as were, in general, the parties themselves.29"
Wingrove Paul(2000) Gao gang and the Moscow connection: Some evidence from Russian sources. Page 97

The CPGC has the supreme power of the People's Republic of China and it consists of the Government Administration Council, the Revolutionary Military Committee, the Supreme People's Court, the Supreme People's Procuratorate and from 1952 till 1954 the State Planning Commission.

Notes Documents...

Next Part 12: The formation of the government